Login or Sign up

Open States

legislator photo

Jane Nelson

Republican — Senator — District 12
Available Terms:
  • 81
  • 82
  • 83

Jane Nelson represents Senate District 12 in the Texas Senate, is a member of seven committees, and is the primary sponsor of 697 bills.

2000 491831.0
2002 521993.77
2004 446922.14
2006 761642.0
2008 714861.0
2010 659474.53
2012 321840.0

For detailed campaign finance information visit Influence Explorer. Figures via the National Institute on Money in State Politics.

  • Capitol address:

    P.O. Box 12068, Capitol Station
    Austin, TX 78711
    Phone: 512-463-0112
  • District address:

    1235 S. Main St., Suite 280
    Grapevine, TX 76051
    Phone: 817-424-3446



News and Blog Coverage

Report: Abortion Restrictions Tied to Poor Health Outcomes

States that put tight restrictions on abortion generally perform worse on women’s and children’s health outcomes, according to a new report released by the Center for Reproductive Rights and Ibis Reproductive Health, both groups that support abortion rights. The report tracked 14 types of abortion restrictions that state legislatures have ...

The Brief: Aug. 22, 2014

The Big Conversation The Houston Chronicle is reporting that in the days before Gov. Rick Perry 's indictment over his veto of funding for the public integrity unit, the Travis County district attorney's office had requested the next Legislature to restore most of the unit's funding. The indictment, though, has ...

Commission Formally Recommends Closure of Some State Institutions

A Texas commission that reviews the efficiency of government agencies officially recommended Wednesday that lawmakers shutter an Austin-area institution for people with disabilities — and identify five more statewide for later closure. The Texas Sunset Advisory Commission reviewed and tweaked a series of recommendations for lawmakers regarding several health and ...

View 112 More News Items

Committee Membership

Sponsored Bills

  • SB 20

    Relating to the licensing and regulation of hospitals in this state; increasing the amount of administrative penalties assessed or imposed against certain hospitals.

  • SB 1

    Relating to the creation and functions of legislative select committees on transportation funding, expenditures, and finance and to the preservation of a sufficient balance in the economic stabilization fund.

  • SJR 1

    Proposing a constitutional amendment to provide for the transfer of certain general revenue to the economic stabilization fund and to the state highway fund and for the dedication of the revenue transferred to the state highway fund.

View More Bills
  • SR 69

    Recognizing Robert A. Bennett for his service to the nation.

  • SB 1

    Relating to the regulation of abortion procedures, providers, and facilities; providing penalties.

  • SR 94

    Recognizing Marc Rodriguez for his achievements.

Recent Votes

We currently do not have any votes for this legislator.


Data on Open States is automatically collected nightly from the official website of the Texas Legislature. If you notice any errors, feel free to contact us or verify that the data matches the official sources below.