Email notifications are now in beta! Learn more and sign up today!
Open States depends upon donations to keep our servers running. If you find Open States useful please consider becoming a patron or making a one-time donation today.

Open States' stated mission is to improve civic engagement.

To be true to that goal, we can not stand by and be silent when a large portion of Americans face systemic racism and other forms of oppression. That oppression has meant being excluded from civic participation at the ballot box, being called un-American for peaceful protests, and being denied justice for crimes committed against them.

Please consider giving to local causes that support racial justice in your area.


Ending Homelessness

Maryland General Assembly

Name Party Role
Mary L. Washington Democratic house chair
Madaleno, Richard S., Jr. senate chair
Joanne C. Benson Democratic member
Mathias, James N., Jr. member
Shelly Hettleman Democratic member
Carol L. Krimm Democratic member
Brooke E. Lierman Democratic member
Mike McKay Republican member
Edith J. Patterson Democratic member
Geraldine Valentino-Smith Democratic member


Data on Open States is updated nightly from the official website of the Maryland General Assembly.

If you notice any inconsistencies with these official sources, feel free to file an issue.