Email notifications are now in beta! Learn more and sign up today!
Open States depends upon donations to keep our servers running. If you find Open States useful please consider becoming a patron or making a one-time donation today.

Open States' stated mission is to improve civic engagement.

To be true to that goal, we can not stand by and be silent when a large portion of Americans face systemic racism and other forms of oppression. That oppression has meant being excluded from civic participation at the ballot box, being called un-American for peaceful protests, and being denied justice for crimes committed against them.

Please consider giving to local causes that support racial justice in your area.



Mississippi Senate Committee

Name Party Role
Sally Doty Republican Chairman
Josh Harkins Republican Vice-Chairman
Robert L. Jackson Democratic member
Russell Jolly Democratic member
John A. Polk Republican member
Terry C. Burton Republican member
Nickey Browning Republican member
Philip Moran Republican member
Dennis DeBar, Jr. Republican member
Bob M. Dearing Democratic member
W. Briggs Hopson III Republican member
Joel R.Carter, Jr. Republican member
Sampson Jackson II Democratic member
Gary Jackson Republican member
Videt Carmichael Republican member


Data on Open States is updated nightly from the official website of the Mississippi Legislature.

If you notice any inconsistencies with these official sources, feel free to file an issue.