Email notifications are now in beta! Learn more and sign up today!
Open States depends upon donations to keep our servers running. If you find Open States useful please consider becoming a patron or making a one-time donation today.

Open States' stated mission is to improve civic engagement.

To be true to that goal, we can not stand by and be silent when a large portion of Americans face systemic racism and other forms of oppression. That oppression has meant being excluded from civic participation at the ballot box, being called un-American for peaceful protests, and being denied justice for crimes committed against them.

Please consider giving to local causes that support racial justice in your area.



Rhode Island House Committee

Name Party Role
Marvin L. Abney Democratic Chairman
Teresa Ann Tanzi Democratic Second Vice-Chairwoman
Scott Slater Member
Michael Morin Member
James N. McLaughlin Democratic Member
William W. O'Brien Member
Gregg Amore Democratic Member
John G. Edwards Democratic Member
Deborah Ruggiero Democratic Member
Carlos E. Tobon Democratic Member
Robert J. Quattrocchi Republican Member
Grace Diaz Democratic Member
Alex Marszalkowski Democratic Member
Jean-Phillipe Barros Member


Data on Open States is updated nightly from the official website of the Rhode Island General Assembly.

If you notice any inconsistencies with these official sources, feel free to file an issue.