You are viewing the legacy, new information is available on the new site.

Open States

legislator photo

Dennis Schmidt (Inactive)

Dennis Schmidt no longer serves in the South Dakota State Legislature.
Available Terms:
  • 2009-2010

Former Roles

  • Member (Republican—33)

Sponsored Bills

  • HC 1026

    Recognizing the South Dakota State University Women's Basketball Team on its outstanding athletic and academic achievements.

  • SC 24

    Commending and honoring the 2009-2010 Madison High School Lady Bulldogs Gymnastics Team for its sixteenth consecutive state championship title in Class A Gymnastics and for setting the national record for consecutive gymnastics state championships.

  • SCR 3

    Commemorating the 100th anniversary of the South Dakota State Capitol.

View More Bills
  • SC 14

    Honoring and congratulating the members of the 2009 Corsica VFW Teener youth baseball team: Kris Menning, Adam Fink, Aaron Groeneweg, Kiefer Johnson, Luke Bamberg, Colin Wieczorek, Gunner Baan Hofman, Ryan Hongslo, Eric Vanden Hoek, Harlan Big Crow, and Kyle Beltman with bat boy Gavin Zomer and Coaches Bob Bamberg and Dave Holstein on their first-ever State B Baseball Championship Title

  • HCR 1009

    Calling for a balanced approach for instruction in the public schools relating to global climatic change.

  • SC 10

    Honoring Tate Bruckner of Menno, South Dakota, for his outstanding performance as a high school athlete and his dedication to his community.

Recent Votes

SB 196

Do Pass Amended

Legislator Vote: Yes

•••Yes: 2057.0
•••No: 1440.0
•••Other: 12.0
SB 169

Veto override

Legislator Vote: Yes

•••Yes: 2160.0
•••No: 1337.0
•••Other: 12.0
SB 121

Veto override

Legislator Vote: Yes

•••Yes: 3085.0
•••No: 411.0
•••Other: 12.0
SB 102

Veto override

Legislator Vote: Yes

•••Yes: 2777.0
•••No: 617.0
•••Other: 25.0
HB 1240

Veto override

Legislator Vote: No

•••Yes: 3188.0
•••No: 25.0
•••Other: 25.0
HB 1060

Veto override

Legislator Vote: Yes

•••Yes: 3394.0
•••No: 00.0
•••Other: 25.0
View More Votes


Data on Open States is automatically collected nightly from the official website of the South Dakota State Legislature. If you notice any errors, feel free to contact us or verify that the data matches the official sources below.