Open States is actively updating our code for the new legislative sessions. Check on the status of each state, and read the related blog post.

We are now independently run. Please consider donating to support us, and visit our blog or contact us for more information.

Open States

legislator photo

Timothy R. Johns

Republican — Representative — District 31
Available Terms:
  • 2013-2014
  • 2015-2016
  • 2017-2018

Timothy R. Johns represents House District 31 in the South Dakota House, is a member of three committees, and is the primary sponsor of 291 bills.

2012 5667.56

For detailed campaign finance information visit Influence Explorer. Figures via the National Institute on Money in State Politics.

Committee Membership

Sponsored Bills

  • HB 1069

    repeal and revise certain provisions related to campaign finance and to declare an emergency.

  • SCR 2

    Supporting the electoral college system.

  • SC 1

    Commending and honoring the 2015-2016 Outstanding School Administrators of South Dakota: Jim Holbeck, Harrisburg, School Superintendent; Todd Brist, Watertown, Middle School Principal; Lory DuFrain, Wagner, School Business Official; Ethan Dschaak, Meade, Elementary School Principal; Kevin Lein, Harrisburg, Secondary School Principal; Ryan Rollinger, Harrisburg, Assistant Secondary School Principal; Sherri Becker, Mitchell, Curriculum Leader; and Jennifer Heggelund, Watertown, Director of Special Education, for being named outstanding administrators by their respective administrator parent groups.

View More Bills
  • HB 1065

    repeal certain provisions regarding the liability of persons for certain business debts.

  • SB 65

    establish the South Dakota Board of Technical Education and to revise certain provisions regarding career and technical education and postsecondary technical institutes.

  • SCR 3

    Recognizing the outstanding public service of President James Monroe.

Recent Votes

HB 1019

Do Pass

Legislator Vote: Yes

•••Yes: 62100.0
•••No: 00.0
•••Other: 00.0
HB 1053

Do Pass

Legislator Vote: Other

•••Yes: 969.0
•••No: 17.0
•••Other: 323.0
HB 1021

Do Pass

Legislator Vote: Yes

•••Yes: 1493.0
•••No: 00.0
•••Other: 16.0
SB 8

Do Pass

Legislator Vote: Yes

•••Yes: 1076.0
•••No: 00.0
•••Other: 323.0
HB 1013

Do Pass Amended

Legislator Vote: Yes

•••Yes: 1386.0
•••No: 00.0
•••Other: 213.0
HB 1048

Do Pass

Legislator Vote: No

•••Yes: 5988.0
•••No: 811.0
•••Other: 00.0
View More Votes


Data on Open States is automatically collected nightly from the official website of the South Dakota State Legislature. If you notice any errors, feel free to contact us or verify that the data matches the official sources below.