Email notifications are now in beta! Learn more and sign up today!
Open States depends upon donations to keep our servers running. If you find Open States useful please consider becoming a patron or making a one-time donation today.

Open States' stated mission is to improve civic engagement.

To be true to that goal, we can not stand by and be silent when a large portion of Americans face systemic racism and other forms of oppression. That oppression has meant being excluded from civic participation at the ballot box, being called un-American for peaceful protests, and being denied justice for crimes committed against them.

Please consider giving to local causes that support racial justice in your area.



Tennessee House Committee

Name Party Role
Cameron Sexton Republican Chair
Sabi 'Doc' Kumar Republican Vice-Chair
Rick Staples Democratic member
Bryan Terry Republican member
Bob Ramsey Republican member
John Ray Clemmons Democratic member
Jeremy Faison Republican member
John B. Holsclaw, Jr. Republican member
Paul Sherrell Republican member
Matthew Hill Republican member
Darren Jernigan Democratic member
Sam Whitson Republican member
John Ragan Republican member
Ryan Williams Republican member
Ron M. Gant Republican member
Gary Hicks Republican member


Data on Open States is updated nightly from the official website of the Tennessee General Assembly.

If you notice any inconsistencies with these official sources, feel free to file an issue.