Email notifications are now in beta! Learn more and sign up today!
Open States depends upon donations to keep our servers running. If you find Open States useful please consider becoming a patron or making a one-time donation today.

Open States' stated mission is to improve civic engagement.

To be true to that goal, we can not stand by and be silent when a large portion of Americans face systemic racism and other forms of oppression. That oppression has meant being excluded from civic participation at the ballot box, being called un-American for peaceful protests, and being denied justice for crimes committed against them.

Please consider giving to local causes that support racial justice in your area.



  • Bill: SB 1027
  • Legislative Session: West Virginia 2019 First Special Session
  • Date: Jun 18, 2019
  • Outcome: Pass
Vote Totals
Yes 95
No 1
Other 4

Roll Call

Name Party Vote
Evans Yes
Little Yes
Azinger Yes
Foster Yes
Martin, C.R. Yes
Brown, N. Yes
Martin, P. Yes
Brown, S. Yes
Maynard Yes
Hartman Yes
Sypolt Yes
Thompson, C. Yes
Miller Yes
Thompson, R. Yes
Campbell Yes
Nelson Yes
Martin Atkinson III Republican Yes
Jim Butler Republican Yes
Barbara Evans Fleischauer Democratic Yes
Danny Hamrick Republican Yes
Caleb Hanna Republican Yes
Linda Longstreth Democratic Yes
Sharon Lewis Malcolm Republican Yes
Ruth Rowan Republican Yes
Margaret Staggers Democratic Yes
Tomblin Yes
Walker Yes
Jeffries, D. Yes
Phillips Yes
Jeffries, J. Yes
Williams Yes
Diserio Yes
Kelly, D. Yes
Kelly, J. Yes
Speaker Hanshaw Yes
Joe Canestraro Democratic Yes
Mike Caputo Democratic Yes
Joe Ellington Republican Yes
Kayla Kessinger Republican Yes
David Pethtel Democratic Yes
Ralph Rodighiero Democratic Yes
S. Marshall Wilson Republican Yes
Michael Angelucci Democratic Yes
Moore Capito Republican Yes
Mark Dean Republican Yes
Evan Hansen Democratic Yes
Kenneth Hicks Democratic Yes
Sean Hornbuckle Democratic Yes
Cindy Lavender-Bowe Democratic Yes
Chad Lovejoy Democratic Yes
Tony Paynter Republican Yes
Larry L. Rowe Democratic Yes
John Shott Republican Yes
Doug Skaff Democratic Yes
Randy Swartzmiller Democratic Yes
Mick Bates Democratic Yes
Tom Bibby Republican Yes
Brent Boggs Democratic Yes
Scott Cadle Republican Yes
John Hardy Republican Yes
Jason Harshbarger Republican Yes
Jordan Hill Republican Yes
Daniel Linville Republican Yes
John Mandt Republican Yes
Brandon Steele Republican Yes
Erikka Storch Republican Yes
Amy Summers Republican Yes
Roy Cooper Republican Yes
Vernon Criss Republican Yes
John Doyle Democratic Yes
Eric L. Householder Republican Yes
Gary G. Howell Republican Yes
D. Rolland Jennings Republican Yes
Jeffrey Pack Republican Yes
Eric Porterfield Republican Yes
Rodney A. Pyles Democratic Yes
Andrew Robinson Democratic Yes
Terry Waxman Republican Yes
Steve Westfall Republican Yes
Lisa Zukoff Democratic Yes
William Anderson Republican Yes
Jason Barrett Democratic Yes
Andrew Byrd Democratic Yes
Paul Espinosa Republican Yes
Amanda Estep-Burton Democratic Yes
Dianna Graves Republican Yes
John Paul Hott Republican Yes
Larry Kump Republican Yes
Pat McGeehan Republican Yes
Tim Miley Democratic Yes
Mike Pushkin Democratic Yes
Ben Queen Republican Yes
Matthew Rohrbach Republican Yes
Christopher Toney Republican Yes
Evan Worrell Republican Yes
Tom Fast Republican No
Joshua Higginbotham Republican Other
Isaac Sponaugle Democratic Other
Daryl Cowles Republican Other
Shawn Fluharty Democratic Other


Data on Open States is updated nightly from the official website of the West Virginia Legislature.

If you notice any inconsistencies with these official sources, feel free to file an issue.