Email notifications are now in beta! Learn more and sign up today!
Open States depends upon donations to keep our servers running. If you find Open States useful please consider becoming a patron or making a one-time donation today.

Open States' stated mission is to improve civic engagement.

To be true to that goal, we can not stand by and be silent when a large portion of Americans face systemic racism and other forms of oppression. That oppression has meant being excluded from civic participation at the ballot box, being called un-American for peaceful protests, and being denied justice for crimes committed against them.

Please consider giving to local causes that support racial justice in your area.


Vote on HB 5251 - Third Reading

  • Bill: HB 5251
  • Motion Text: Third Reading
  • Legislative Session: Illinois 100th Regular Session
  • Date: Apr 23, 2018
  • Outcome: Pass
Vote Totals
Yes 109
No 0
Absent 0
Excused 8
Not Voting 1
Other 0
Breakdown by Party Yes No Other
Democratic 50 0 5
Republican 41 0 2
Unknown 18 0 2

Roll Call

Name Party Vote
Natalie A. Manley Democratic Yes
Steven A. Andersson Republican Yes
Robert F. Martwick Democratic Yes
Jaime M. Andrade, Jr. Democratic Yes
Mark Batinick Republican Yes
Patricia R. Bellock Republican Yes
Peter Breen Republican Yes
Monica Bristow Democratic Yes
Terri Bryant Republican Yes
Tim Butler Republican Yes
Jonathan Carroll Democratic Yes
Michael P. McAuliffe Republican Yes
Carol A. Sente Democratic Yes
Randy E. Frese Republican Yes
Bennett Yes
Sauer Yes
Brady Yes
Harris, David Yes
Lou Lang Democratic Yes
Harris, Gregory Yes
Rita Mayfield Democratic Yes
Burke, Daniel Yes
Smith Yes
David McSweeney Republican Yes
Jones Yes
Katie Stuart Democratic Yes
Daniel Swanson Republican Yes
Silvana Tabares Democratic Yes
André M. Thapedi Democratic Yes
Arthur L. Turner Democratic Yes
Litesa E. Wallace Democratic Yes
Davis Yes
Welch Yes
Wheeler, Barbara Yes
Sam Yingling Democratic Yes
Wheeler, Keith Yes
Mitchell, Bill Yes
Williams Yes
Mitchell, Christian Yes
Evans Yes
Morrison Yes
Melissa Conyears-Ervin Democratic Yes
Jerry F. Costello, II Democratic Yes
Barbara Flynn Currie Democratic Yes
C.D. Davidsmeyer Republican Yes
Chad Hays Republican Yes
Finnie, Natalie Yes
Mary E. Flowers Democratic Yes
LaShawn K. Ford Democratic Yes
Sara Wojcicki Jimenez Republican Yes
Steven Reick Republican Yes
David B. Reis Republican Yes
Al Riley Democratic Yes
Robert Rita Democratic Yes
Dave Severin Republican Yes
Keith P. Sommer Republican Yes
Cynthia Soto Democratic Yes
Ryan Spain Republican Yes
Christine Winger Republican Yes
Camille Y. Lilly Democratic Yes
Carol Ammons Democratic Yes
Avery Bourne Republican Yes
John M. Cabello Republican Yes
Kelly M. Cassidy Democratic Yes
Laura Fine Democratic Yes
Michelle Mussman Democratic Yes
Norine K. Hammond Republican Yes
Reginald Phillips Republican Yes
Jehan A. Gordon-Booth Democratic Yes
LaToya Greenwood Democratic Yes
Will Guzzardi Democratic Yes
Brad E. Halbrook Republican Yes
Michael Halpin Democratic Yes
Sonya M. Harper Democratic Yes
Jerry Lee Long Republican Yes
Theresa Mah Democratic Yes
Tony McCombie Republican Yes
Margo McDermed Republican Yes
Charles E. Meier Republican Yes
Anna Moeller Democratic Yes
Martin J. Moylan Democratic Yes
Juliana Stratton Democratic Yes
Michael D. Unes Republican Yes
Lawrence M. Walsh, Jr. Democratic Yes
Grant Wehrli Republican Yes
David A. Welter Republican Yes
Kathleen Willis Democratic Yes
John D. Cavaletto Republican Yes
Linda Chapa LaVia Democratic Yes
John Connor Democratic Yes
Fred Crespo Democratic Yes
John C. D'Amico Democratic Yes
Anthony DeLuca Democratic Yes
Tom Demmer Republican Yes
Scott Drury Democratic Yes
Jim Durkin Republican Yes
Jay C. Hoffman Democratic Yes
Jeanne M Ives Republican Yes
Sheri L Jesiel Republican Yes
Stephanie A. Kifowit Democratic Yes
Mike Fortner Republican Yes
Michael J. Zalewski Democratic Yes
Frances Ann Hurley Democratic Yes
David S. Olsen Republican Yes
Lindsay Parkhurst Republican Yes
Robert W. Pritchard Republican Yes
Sue Scherer Democratic Yes
Allen Skillicorn Republican Yes
Justin Slaughter Democratic Yes
Hernandez Excused
Burke, Kelly Excused
Deborah Conroy Democratic Excused
Sara Feigenholtz Democratic Excused
Joe Sosnowski Republican Excused
Luis Arroyo Democratic Excused
Robyn Gabel Democratic Excused
Brian W. Stewart Republican Excused
Michael J. Madigan Democratic Not Voting


Data on Open States is updated nightly from the official website of the Illinois General Assembly.

If you notice any inconsistencies with these official sources, feel free to file an issue.