Email notifications are now in beta! Learn more and sign up today!
Open States depends upon donations to keep our servers running. If you find Open States useful please consider becoming a patron or making a one-time donation today.

Open States' stated mission is to improve civic engagement.

To be true to that goal, we can not stand by and be silent when a large portion of Americans face systemic racism and other forms of oppression. That oppression has meant being excluded from civic participation at the ballot box, being called un-American for peaceful protests, and being denied justice for crimes committed against them.

Please consider giving to local causes that support racial justice in your area.


Vote on SB 8A - A8 - 424838, Amendment, Second Reading

  • Bill: SB 8A
  • Motion Text: A8 - 424838, Amendment, Second Reading
  • Legislative Session: Florida 2017 Special Session A
  • Date: Jun 08, 2017
  • Outcome: Fail
Vote Totals
Yes 14
No 20
Not Voting 5

Roll Call

Name Party Vote
Garcia Yes
Gibson Yes
Brandes Yes
Braynon Yes
Clemens Yes
Rader Yes
Randolph Bracy Democratic Yes
Gary M. Farmer Jr. Democratic Yes
Darryl Ervin Rouson Democratic Yes
Linda Stewart Democratic Yes
Perry E. Thurston Jr. Democratic Yes
Lauren Book Democratic Yes
Jose Javier Rodriguez Democratic Yes
Victor M. Torres Jr. Democratic Yes
Baxley No
Galvano No
Bean No
Benacquisto No
Simmons No
Grimsley No
Simpson No
Stargel No
Bradley No
Steube No
Lee No
Montford No
Passidomo No
Perry No
Flores No
Travis Hutson Republican No
Debbie Mayfield Republican No
Dana D. Young Republican No
Doug Broxson Republican No
George B. Gainer Republican No
Hukill Excused
Campbell Excused
Latvala Not Voting
President Negron Not Voting
Bobby Powell Democratic Not Voting


Data on Open States is updated nightly from the official website of the Florida Legislature.

If you notice any inconsistencies with these official sources, feel free to file an issue.