Email notifications are now in beta! Learn more and sign up today!
Open States depends upon donations to keep our servers running. If you find Open States useful please consider becoming a patron or making a one-time donation today.

Open States' stated mission is to improve civic engagement.

To be true to that goal, we can not stand by and be silent when a large portion of Americans face systemic racism and other forms of oppression. That oppression has meant being excluded from civic participation at the ballot box, being called un-American for peaceful protests, and being denied justice for crimes committed against them.

Please consider giving to local causes that support racial justice in your area.


Vote on HB 1089 - Second Reading

  • Bill: HB 1089
  • Motion Text: Second Reading
  • Legislative Session: North Carolina 2017-2018 Session
  • Date: Jun 14, 2018
  • Outcome: Pass
Vote Totals
Yes 91
No 0
Absent 26
Excused 0
Not Voting 3

Roll Call

Name Party Vote
James L. Boles, Jr. Republican Yes
Deb Butler Democratic Yes
Josh Dobson Republican Yes
John Faircloth Republican Yes
G.Adcock Yes
L.Bell Yes
DuaneHall Yes
C.Graham Yes
G.Graham Yes
Jackson Yes
G.Martin Yes
B.Richardson Yes
W.Richardson Yes
B.Turner Yes
J.Bell Yes
BertJones Yes
Brawley Yes
BrendenJones Yes
Davis Yes
DestinHall Yes
Ford Yes
K.Hall Yes
Malone Yes
S.Martin Yes
T.Moore(Speaker) Yes
Chaz Beasley Democratic Yes
Dana Bumgardner Republican Yes
Debra Conrad Republican Yes
Kevin Corbin Republican Yes
Nelson Dollar Republican Yes
Rosa U. Gill Democratic Yes
Holly Grange Republican Yes
Jon Hardister Republican Yes
Pricey Harrison Democratic Yes
Cody Henson Republican Yes
Julia C. Howard Republican Yes
Pat B. Hurley Republican Yes
Verla Insko Democratic Yes
Jonathan C. Jordan Republican Yes
Chuck McGrady Republican Yes
Marcia Morey Democratic Yes
Garland E. Pierce Democratic Yes
Larry G. Pittman Republican Yes
Evelyn Terry Democratic Yes
Ross Yes
Stevens Yes
Stone Yes
R.Turner Yes
Warren Yes
White Yes
John A. Torbett Republican Yes
Arthur Williams Democratic Yes
David Rogers Republican Yes
John Sauls Republican Yes
Bob Steinburg Republican Yes
John Szoka Republican Yes
Shelly Willingham Democratic Yes
John Ager Democratic Yes
John Autry Democratic Yes
Beverly G. Boswell Republican Yes
Justin P. Burr Republican Yes
Andy Dulin Republican Yes
Jean Farmer-Butterfield Democratic Yes
Susan C. Fisher Democratic Yes
Elmer Floyd Democratic Yes
John A. Fraley Republican Yes
Terry E. Garrison Democratic Yes
Cynthia Ball Democratic Yes
William D. Brisson Republican Yes
Mark Brody Republican Yes
Mike Clampitt Republican Yes
Jimmy Dixon Republican Yes
Jeffrey Elmore Republican Yes
Yvonne Lewis Holley Democratic Yes
D. Craig Horn Republican Yes
Frank Iler Republican Yes
Joe John Democratic Yes
Donny Lambeth Republican Yes
David R. Lewis Republican Yes
Allen McNeill Republican Yes
Michele D. Presnell Republican Yes
Robert T. Reives, II Democratic Yes
Michael H. Wray Democratic Yes
Jason Saine Republican Yes
Mitchell S. Setzer Republican Yes
Michael Speciale Republican Yes
Larry C. Strickland Republican Yes
Graig R. Meyer Democratic Yes
Bob Muller Republican Yes
Larry W. Potts Republican Yes
Larry Yarborough Republican Yes
Dean Arp Republican Absent
Alexander Absent
Carney Absent
R.Moore Absent
Adams Absent
Johnson Absent
John R. Bradford, III Republican Absent
George G. Cleveland Republican Absent
Beverly M. Earle Democratic Absent
Ken Goodman Democratic Absent
Howard J. Hunter, III Democratic Absent
Marvin W. Lucas Democratic Absent
Sam Watford Republican Absent
Amos L. Quick, III Democratic Absent
Hugh Blackwell Republican Absent
Cecil Brockman Democratic Absent
Carla D. Cunningham Democratic Absent
Mary Belk Democratic Absent
MaryAnn Black Democratic Absent
Edward Hanes, Jr. Democratic Absent
Kelly E. Hastings Republican Absent
Pat McElraft Republican Absent
Henry M. Michaux, Jr. Democratic Absent
Gregory F. Murphy, MD Republican Absent
Dennis Riddell Republican Absent
Phil Shepard Republican Absent
John M. Blust Republican Abstain
Jeff Collins Republican Abstain
Lee Zachary Republican Abstain


Data on Open States is updated nightly from the official website of the North Carolina General Assembly.

If you notice any inconsistencies with these official sources, feel free to file an issue.