Email notifications are now in beta! Learn more and sign up today!
Open States depends upon donations to keep our servers running. If you find Open States useful please consider becoming a patron or making a one-time donation today.

Open States' stated mission is to improve civic engagement.

To be true to that goal, we can not stand by and be silent when a large portion of Americans face systemic racism and other forms of oppression. That oppression has meant being excluded from civic participation at the ballot box, being called un-American for peaceful protests, and being denied justice for crimes committed against them.

Please consider giving to local causes that support racial justice in your area.


Vote on SF 346 - Shall amendment H-1187 be adopted?

  • Bill: SF 346
  • Motion Text: Shall amendment H-1187 be adopted?
  • Legislative Session: Iowa 2019-2020 Regular Session
  • Date: Apr 10, 2019
  • Outcome: Fail
Vote Totals
Yes 44
No 54
Absent 2
Abstain 0
Breakdown by Party Yes No Other
Democratic 40 0 1
Republican 0 49 0
Unknown 4 5 1

Roll Call

Name Party Vote
Anderson Yes
Olson Yes
Smith, M. Yes
Smith, R. Yes
Karin Derry Democratic Yes
Molly Donahue Democratic Yes
Tracy Ehlert Democratic Yes
Wes Breckenridge Democratic Yes
Timi Brown-Powers Democratic Yes
Dennis M. Cohoon Democratic Yes
Ruth Ann Gaines Democratic Yes
Lisa Heddens Democratic Yes
Dave Jacoby Democratic Yes
Kenan Judge Democratic Yes
Timothy Kacena Democratic Yes
Bob Kressig Democratic Yes
Monica Kurth Democratic Yes
Mary Mascher Democratic Yes
Scott D. Ourth Democratic Yes
Todd Prichard Democratic Yes
Kirsten Running-Marquardt Democratic Yes
Dave Williams Democratic Yes
John Forbes Democratic Yes
Ako Abdul-Samad Democratic Yes
Bruce Bearinger Democratic Yes
Liz Bennett Democratic Yes
Mary A. Gaskill Democratic Yes
Chris Hall Democratic Yes
Bruce Hunter Democratic Yes
Charles Isenhart Democratic Yes
Lindsay James Democratic Yes
Jennifer Konfrst Democratic Yes
Jeff Kurtz Democratic Yes
Vicki Lensing Democratic Yes
Heather Matson Democratic Yes
Charlie McConkey Democratic Yes
Amy Nielsen Democratic Yes
Jo Oldson Democratic Yes
Art Staed Democratic Yes
Sharon S. Steckman Democratic Yes
Kristin Sunde Democratic Yes
Beth Wessel-Kroeschell Democratic Yes
Cindy Winckler Democratic Yes
Mary Lynn Wolfe Democratic Yes
Kaufmann No
Dean Fisher Republican No
Meyer, A. No
Moore No
Shipley No
Zumbach No
Robert P. Bacon Republican No
Brian Best Republican No
Jane Bloomingdale Republican No
Holly Brink Republican No
Gary L. Carlson Republican No
Pat Grassley Republican No
Lee Hein Republican No
Ashley Hinson Republican No
Steven Holt Republican No
Tom Jeneary Republican No
Megan Jones Republican No
David Kerr Republican No
Shannon Lundgren Republican No
David E. Maxwell Republican No
Andy McKean Republican No
Joe Mitchell Republican No
Anne Osmundson Republican No
Ross C. Paustian Republican No
Sandy Salmon Republican No
David Sieck Republican No
Ray Sorensen Republican No
Phil Thompson Republican No
Jon Thorup Republican No
Matt W. Windschitl Republican No
Dave Deyoe Republican No
Cecil Dolecheck Republican No
Joel Fry Republican No
Terry C. Baxter Republican No
Michael R. Bergan Republican No
Jacob Bossman Republican No
Tedd Gassman Republican No
Thomas D. Gerhold Republican No
Stan Gustafson Republican No
Chris Hagenow Republican No
Mary Ann Hanusa Republican No
Dustin D. Hite Republican No
Daniel Adair Huseman Republican No
Jon Jacobsen Republican No
Jarad Klein Republican No
John Landon Republican No
Brian K. Lohse Republican No
Gary M. Mohr Republican No
Norlin G. Mommsen Republican No
Mike Sexton Republican No
Linda L. Upmeyer Republican No
Skyler Wheeler Republican No
John H. Wills Republican No
Gary Worthan Republican No
Meyer, B. Absent
Phyllis Thede Democratic Absent


Data on Open States is updated nightly from the official website of the Iowa General Assembly.

If you notice any inconsistencies with these official sources, feel free to file an issue.