Email notifications are now in beta! Learn more and sign up today!
Open States depends upon donations to keep our servers running. If you find Open States useful please consider becoming a patron or making a one-time donation today.

Open States' stated mission is to improve civic engagement.

To be true to that goal, we can not stand by and be silent when a large portion of Americans face systemic racism and other forms of oppression. That oppression has meant being excluded from civic participation at the ballot box, being called un-American for peaceful protests, and being denied justice for crimes committed against them.

Please consider giving to local causes that support racial justice in your area.


Vote on SB 224 - Second Reading

  • Bill: SB 224
  • Motion Text: Second Reading
  • Legislative Session: North Carolina 2017-2018 Session
  • Date: Jun 13, 2018
  • Outcome: Pass
Vote Totals
Yes 106
No 3
Absent 7
Excused 2
Not Voting 2

Roll Call

Name Party Vote
Dean Arp Republican Yes
Dana Bumgardner Republican Yes
Deb Butler Democratic Yes
Josh Dobson Republican Yes
John Faircloth Republican Yes
Rosa U. Gill Democratic Yes
G.Adcock Yes
Alexander Yes
L.Bell Yes
Chaz Beasley Democratic Yes
DuaneHall Yes
C.Graham Yes
G.Graham Yes
G.Martin Yes
R.Moore Yes
B.Richardson Yes
B.Turner Yes
Adams Yes
J.Bell Yes
BertJones Yes
Brawley Yes
BrendenJones Yes
Davis Yes
DestinHall Yes
Ford Yes
K.Hall Yes
Johnson Yes
Malone Yes
James L. Boles, Jr. Republican Yes
John R. Bradford, III Republican Yes
Debra Conrad Republican Yes
Kevin Corbin Republican Yes
Nelson Dollar Republican Yes
Beverly M. Earle Democratic Yes
Ken Goodman Democratic Yes
Jon Hardister Republican Yes
Cody Henson Republican Yes
Julia C. Howard Republican Yes
Howard J. Hunter, III Democratic Yes
Pat B. Hurley Republican Yes
Verla Insko Democratic Yes
Jonathan C. Jordan Republican Yes
Chuck McGrady Republican Yes
Garland E. Pierce Democratic Yes
Larry G. Pittman Republican Yes
Evelyn Terry Democratic Yes
Shelly Willingham Democratic Yes
Ross Yes
Stevens Yes
R.Turner Yes
Warren Yes
White Yes
John A. Torbett Republican Yes
Sam Watford Republican Yes
Marvin W. Lucas Democratic Yes
David Rogers Republican Yes
John Sauls Republican Yes
Bob Steinburg Republican Yes
John Szoka Republican Yes
John Ager Democratic Yes
John Autry Democratic Yes
Hugh Blackwell Republican Yes
Mary Belk Democratic Yes
Beverly G. Boswell Republican Yes
Justin P. Burr Republican Yes
Andy Dulin Republican Yes
Jean Farmer-Butterfield Democratic Yes
Susan C. Fisher Democratic Yes
Elmer Floyd Democratic Yes
John A. Fraley Republican Yes
Terry E. Garrison Democratic Yes
Cynthia Ball Democratic Yes
MaryAnn Black Democratic Yes
Cecil Brockman Democratic Yes
William D. Brisson Republican Yes
Mark Brody Republican Yes
Mike Clampitt Republican Yes
Carla D. Cunningham Democratic Yes
Jimmy Dixon Republican Yes
Jeffrey Elmore Republican Yes
Edward Hanes, Jr. Democratic Yes
Kelly E. Hastings Republican Yes
Yvonne Lewis Holley Democratic Yes
D. Craig Horn Republican Yes
Frank Iler Republican Yes
Joe John Democratic Yes
Donny Lambeth Republican Yes
David R. Lewis Republican Yes
Pat McElraft Republican Yes
Bob Muller Republican Yes
Gregory F. Murphy, MD Republican Yes
Robert T. Reives, II Democratic Yes
Michael H. Wray Democratic Yes
Michele D. Presnell Republican Yes
Dennis Riddell Republican Yes
Jason Saine Republican Yes
Mitchell S. Setzer Republican Yes
Phil Shepard Republican Yes
Michael Speciale Republican Yes
Larry C. Strickland Republican Yes
Allen McNeill Republican Yes
Graig R. Meyer Democratic Yes
Henry M. Michaux, Jr. Democratic Yes
Larry W. Potts Republican Yes
Larry Yarborough Republican Yes
Lee Zachary Republican Yes
Pricey Harrison Democratic No
Marcia Morey Democratic No
Amos L. Quick, III Democratic No
Carney Absent
S.Martin Absent
Stone Absent
George G. Cleveland Republican Absent
Holly Grange Republican Absent
Arthur Williams Democratic Absent
John M. Blust Republican Absent
T.Moore(Speaker) Abstain
Jeff Collins Republican Abstain


Data on Open States is updated nightly from the official website of the North Carolina General Assembly.

If you notice any inconsistencies with these official sources, feel free to file an issue.