Email notifications are now in beta! Learn more and sign up today!
Open States depends upon donations to keep our servers running. If you find Open States useful please consider becoming a patron or making a one-time donation today.

Open States' stated mission is to improve civic engagement.

To be true to that goal, we can not stand by and be silent when a large portion of Americans face systemic racism and other forms of oppression. That oppression has meant being excluded from civic participation at the ballot box, being called un-American for peaceful protests, and being denied justice for crimes committed against them.

Please consider giving to local causes that support racial justice in your area.


Vote on HF 546 - Shall the bill pass?

  • Bill: HF 546
  • Motion Text: Shall the bill pass?
  • Legislative Session: Iowa 2019-2020 Regular Session
  • Date: Apr 25, 2019
  • Outcome: Pass
Vote Totals
Yes 95
No 4
Absent 1
Abstain 0
Breakdown by Party Yes No Other
Democratic 38 2 1
Republican 48 1 0
Unknown 9 1 0

Roll Call

Name Party Vote
Anderson Yes
Kaufmann Yes
Karin Derry Democratic Yes
Molly Donahue Democratic Yes
Tracy Ehlert Democratic Yes
Dean Fisher Republican Yes
Meyer, A. Yes
Meyer, B. Yes
Moore Yes
Olson Yes
Smith, M. Yes
Smith, R. Yes
Zumbach Yes
Robert P. Bacon Republican Yes
Brian Best Republican Yes
Jane Bloomingdale Republican Yes
Wes Breckenridge Democratic Yes
Holly Brink Republican Yes
Timi Brown-Powers Democratic Yes
Gary L. Carlson Republican Yes
Dennis M. Cohoon Democratic Yes
Ruth Ann Gaines Democratic Yes
Pat Grassley Republican Yes
Lisa Heddens Democratic Yes
Lee Hein Republican Yes
Ashley Hinson Republican Yes
Steven Holt Republican Yes
Dave Jacoby Democratic Yes
Tom Jeneary Republican Yes
Megan Jones Republican Yes
Kenan Judge Democratic Yes
Timothy Kacena Democratic Yes
David Kerr Republican Yes
Bob Kressig Democratic Yes
Monica Kurth Democratic Yes
Shannon Lundgren Republican Yes
Mary Mascher Democratic Yes
David E. Maxwell Republican Yes
Andy McKean Republican Yes
Joe Mitchell Republican Yes
Anne Osmundson Republican Yes
Scott D. Ourth Democratic Yes
Ross C. Paustian Republican Yes
Todd Prichard Democratic Yes
Sandy Salmon Republican Yes
David Sieck Republican Yes
Ray Sorensen Republican Yes
Phyllis Thede Democratic Yes
Phil Thompson Republican Yes
Jon Thorup Republican Yes
Dave Williams Democratic Yes
Matt W. Windschitl Republican Yes
Dave Deyoe Republican Yes
Cecil Dolecheck Republican Yes
John Forbes Democratic Yes
Joel Fry Republican Yes
Terry C. Baxter Republican Yes
Bruce Bearinger Democratic Yes
Liz Bennett Democratic Yes
Michael R. Bergan Republican Yes
Jacob Bossman Republican Yes
Mary A. Gaskill Democratic Yes
Tedd Gassman Republican Yes
Thomas D. Gerhold Republican Yes
Stan Gustafson Republican Yes
Chris Hagenow Republican Yes
Chris Hall Democratic Yes
Mary Ann Hanusa Republican Yes
Dustin D. Hite Republican Yes
Bruce Hunter Democratic Yes
Daniel Adair Huseman Republican Yes
Jon Jacobsen Republican Yes
Lindsay James Democratic Yes
Jarad Klein Republican Yes
Jennifer Konfrst Democratic Yes
Jeff Kurtz Democratic Yes
John Landon Republican Yes
Vicki Lensing Democratic Yes
Brian K. Lohse Republican Yes
Heather Matson Democratic Yes
Charlie McConkey Democratic Yes
Gary M. Mohr Republican Yes
Norlin G. Mommsen Republican Yes
Amy Nielsen Democratic Yes
Jo Oldson Democratic Yes
Mike Sexton Republican Yes
Art Staed Democratic Yes
Sharon S. Steckman Democratic Yes
Kristin Sunde Democratic Yes
Linda L. Upmeyer Republican Yes
Beth Wessel-Kroeschell Democratic Yes
John H. Wills Republican Yes
Cindy Winckler Democratic Yes
Mary Lynn Wolfe Democratic Yes
Gary Worthan Republican Yes
Shipley No
Kirsten Running-Marquardt Democratic No
Charles Isenhart Democratic No
Skyler Wheeler Republican No
Ako Abdul-Samad Democratic Absent


Data on Open States is updated nightly from the official website of the Iowa General Assembly.

If you notice any inconsistencies with these official sources, feel free to file an issue.