Email notifications are now in beta! Learn more and sign up today!
Open States depends upon donations to keep our servers running. If you find Open States useful please consider becoming a patron or making a one-time donation today.

Open States' stated mission is to improve civic engagement.

To be true to that goal, we can not stand by and be silent when a large portion of Americans face systemic racism and other forms of oppression. That oppression has meant being excluded from civic participation at the ballot box, being called un-American for peaceful protests, and being denied justice for crimes committed against them.

Please consider giving to local causes that support racial justice in your area.


Vote on SB 2 - SB 2 Hernandez Senate Third Reading By BONTA

  • Bill: SB 2
  • Motion Text: SB 2 Hernandez Senate Third Reading By BONTA
  • Legislative Session: California 2015-2016, 2nd Special Session
  • Date: Sep 09, 2015
  • Outcome: Pass
Vote Totals
Yes 53
No 1
Other 26
Breakdown by Party Yes No Other
Democratic 44 1 1
Republican 3 0 23
Unknown 6 0 2

Roll Call

Name Party Vote
Susan Talamantes Eggman Democratic Yes
Tom Daly Democratic Yes
Calderon Yes
Salas Yes
Jose Medina Democratic Yes
Henry Perea Democratic Yes
Bonilla Yes
Jim Frazier Democratic Yes
Lorena Gonzalez Democratic Yes
Gray Yes
Richard Gordon Democratic Yes
Lopez Yes
Chris R. Holden Democratic Yes
Roger Hernández Democratic Yes
Atkins Yes
Kevin McCarty Democratic Yes
Cristina Garcia Democratic Yes
Kevin Mullin Democratic Yes
Ed Chau Democratic Yes
Kansen Chu Democratic Yes
Bill Dodd Democratic Yes
Jim Patterson Republican Yes
Bill Quirk Democratic Yes
Freddie Rodriguez Democratic Yes
Shirley N. Weber Democratic Yes
Das Williams Democratic Yes
Jim Wood Democratic Yes
Jimmy Gomez Democratic Yes
Shannon Grove Republican Yes
Luis Alejo Democratic Yes
Rob Bonta Democratic Yes
Cheryl R. Brown Democratic Yes
Marc Levine Democratic Yes
Adrin Nazarian Democratic Yes
Miguel Santiago Democratic Yes
Mike A. Gipson Democratic Yes
Rocky J. Chávez Republican Yes
Mark Stone Democratic Yes
Reginald Byron Jones-Sawyer, Sr. Democratic Yes
Eduardo Garcia Democratic Yes
Autumn R. Burke Democratic Yes
Patrick O'Donnell Democratic Yes
Nora Campos Democratic Yes
David Chiu Democratic Yes
Ken Cooley Democratic Yes
Jim Cooper Democratic Yes
Matthew Dababneh Democratic Yes
Tony Thurmond Democratic Yes
Philip Y. Ting Democratic Yes
Richard Bloom Democratic Yes
Jacqui Irwin Democratic Yes
Evan Low Democratic Yes
Anthony Rendon Democratic Yes
Mike Gatto Democratic No
James Gallagher Republican Other
Brian Maienschein Republican Other
Melissa A. Melendez Republican Other
Jones Other
Beth Gaines Republican Other
Dahle Other
Jay Obernolte Republican Other
Catharine B. Baker Republican Other
Ling Ling Chang Republican Other
Sebastian Ridley-Thomas Democratic Other
Marie Waldron Republican Other
David Hadley Republican Other
Katcho Achadjian Republican Other
Frank Bigelow Republican Other
William P. Brough Republican Other
Devon J. Mathis Republican Other
Donald Wagner Republican Other
Scott Wilk Republican Other
Matthew Harper Republican Other
Young O. Kim Republican Other
Tom Lackey Republican Other
Eric Linder Republican Other
Travis Allen Republican Other
Marc Steinorth Republican Other
Chad Mayes Republican Other
Kristin Olsen Republican Other


Data on Open States is updated nightly from the official website of the California State Legislature.

If you notice any inconsistencies with these official sources, feel free to file an issue.